Skip to Content

Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award

The Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award annually celebrates and recognizes an individual who has demonstrated outstanding administrative or managerial leadership within the Canadian theatre community. The award also includes a protégé, chosen by the Award winner, underlining the importance of skills and knowledge transmission in leadership building.

Winners are chosen based on the following criteria:


Mallory Gilbert

The Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award was initiated in celebration of PACT’s 30th anniversary in 2006-2007 and was named in honour of Mallory Gilbert.

Ms. Gilbert was one of Canada’s most respected arts managers. She was Tarragon Theatre’s General Manager for 34 years, and was also one of the founders of PACT.

Ms. Gilbert served on PACT’s Board for 20 years (as President from 1989 to 1993), and was the recipient of a PACT Honourary Life Membership in 2005. By mentoring countless aspiring arts administrators, she shaped the careers of many of Canada’s theatre leaders and encouraged the creation of exciting new theatre ventures.

Ms. Gilbert passed away in 2019. She is dearly missed by Tarragon Theatre, PACT, and the Canadian theatre community.

Selection Process

The Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award Selection Panel is composed of a combination of PACT Honourary Life Members, respected leaders of Canada’s national theatre community and past recipients of the Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award.

The Selection Panel reviews all nominations and selects one winner, judging nominations against the eligibility requirements (see nomination form for full eligibility requirements). At its discretion, the Selection Panel may choose to grant no award or multiple awards in one year. All Selection Panel deliberations are strictly confidential.

The selection panel is comprised of the President, Vice-president, and Treasurer of PACT, as well as, the previous year’s award recipient and another member of the PACT board.

Support for the Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award

We gratefully acknowledge previous support for the Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award from Tarragon Theatre, who sponsored the award for the first five years, and the Metcalf Foundation, who supported the award from 2012 to 2015.

Please consider supporting the Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award by visiting our donations page.

For more information, including how to nominate someone or eligibility criteria for the award and selection jury, or support with the nomination process, contact PACT Membership & Communications Manager, Ainslee Jessiman at

Past winners of the Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award

2024 - Lyndee Hansen and protégé Christine Gruenbauer

2023 - Chris O'Neill and protégés Marcus Wong and Logan Robins 
- Hugh Neilson and protégé Celina Hawkins
2021 - Lori Marchand and  protégé Cheyenne Scott
2019 - Camilla Holland and protégé Evan Klassen
2018 - Gaylene Buckle and protégé Natasha Butt
2017 - Michele Decottignies and protégé Olivia Marie Golosky
2016 - Nancy Webster and protégé Katie Pounder
2015 - Ivan Habel and protégés Nadine Carew and Natalie Ackers
2014 - Yvette Nolan and protégé Kristen Holfeuer
2013 - David Abel and protégé Rebecca Singh
2012 - Chuck Childs and protégé Adèle Benoit

2011 - Philip Akin and protégé Mumbi Tindyebwa Otu
2010 - Naomi Campbell and protégé Donna-Michelle St. Bernard
2009 - Heather Redfern and protégé Kris Nelson
2008 - Cherry Karpyshin and protégé Madonna Van Vonderen
2007 - Jenny Munday and protégé Natasha MacLellan

Nominations for the 2024 Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award are now closed. Please check back in the new year for 2025 nominations.